Prayagraj Mela Authority

    UP Government Logo

    The Hon’ble Governor promulgating the Uttar Pradesh Ordinance No.-4 year 2017 by the Government of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Section-1 by notification number-2190 (2)/79-5-1-17-2 (a)/2017 Lucknow – dated November 13, 2017, constituted Uttar Pradesh Prayagraj Mela Authority for organizing Maha Kumbh Mela, Kumbh Mela and Magh Mela andPrayagraj Mela Authority, Allahabad Act-2017 was made to establish Prayagraj Mela Authority, Allahabad under Uttar Pradesh Act No.-5 of 2018.

    In Prayagraj Mela Authority Board, Commissioner, Prayagraj Division is the Chairperson, Inspector General of Police and District Magistrate, Prayagraj are Vice Presidents, Mela Officer/Mela Magistrate (appointed by the State Government at the time of Mahakumbh Mela or Kumbh Mela) is Chief Executive Officer/Secretary, Additional Mela Officer /Additional Mela Magistrate (appointed by the State Government at the time of Mahakumbh Mela) is member secretary or the Mela Officer appointed by the District Magistrate shall be the Member Secretary and other senior officers of other concerned departments shall be ex-officio members.

    In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 14 and 15 of the Uttar Pradesh Prayagraj Mela Authority, Allahabad Act-2017, the bye-laws were notified on 11th January, 2019 by the Mela Officer, Kumbh Mela, 2018-19 for the arrangement of the Mela.